Winding Down the Weekend

The only limits in life are the ones you make.

The sun was short lived, and the rain/mist is back. I noticed snow on the forecast this week (I hope my new snow shovel arrives before it comes). The kitties and I had some extra time on our hands so we decided to bake and wind yarn. Then we wound some more yarn (it is Burt’s favorite activity after all). The yarn for all 10 Malabrigo projects is ready and waiting. When the weather decides to cooperate, I’ll get a group photo.

007

Yesterday, I made a ham and asparagus strata using one of my homemade loaves of bread. I always forget I prefer a frittata more than a strata. None the less, I made a pan of strata that I think I’ll be eating on all week at this rate. I also tried a new recipe from 300 Best Bread Machine Recipes. Okay, I’ve made more than one so far, but I have to keep busy! Below are loaves two and three. The cranberry orange is a tad sweet for my taste. I froze most of it for the British Hubby. The double cheese and onion loaf is more my style. The top caved in a bit when I turned it out of the pan, but it tastes amazing.

With all this cooking and baking, you’re probably thinking I’ve had no time to knit. Introducing my first Feb-blue-ary finish and liberated orphan wip number three, Malabrigo Diamonds! This has been on the needles for almost two years now. It’s very warm and toasty to wear especially since it’s still chilly here in the PNW. I think I’m going to wear it to work tomorrow. Burt makes a lovely model doesn’t he?

 

Update on Feb-blue-ary & other wips:

  • Blue Banana: Still nothing new on this one.
  • Frank in Paris: I had to start on the third skein of Frank. I’m hardly going to need any of it, but now I’m worried that I won’t have enough Paris to complete this scarf. Eight more rows until the last Frank stripe!
  • Dewberry Dancer: Wow, these rows now take forever!
019

Knitting and snuggling, my favorite way to spend a rainy day.

Three wips completed and just over a week to finish five more! Eek.

Leave a Reply

